Can Adventure creatures always be cast from exile?Hypersonic dragon => instant scavenge?Will a copy of a flashed-back Increasing Vengeance still make two copies?Jace, Telepath Unbound and Casting a Spell from the GraveyardIf I can cast “target instant card” from my graveyard can I cast a card that has Flash?Can I cast both parts of Commit//Memory from the graveyard with Torrential Gearhulk?How does Hazoret's Undying Fury work with Aftermath cards?Why do effects that exile a card from the graveyard use the characteristics the card had in the graveyard?Can I cast Dire Fleet Daredevil if my opponent has no instants or sorceries in their graveyard?What happens when a reanimated creature returns from exile?What cards can I cast from exile with Dream Pillager?
Looking for a big fantasy novel about scholarly monks that sort of worship math?
Why would one hemisphere of a planet be very mountainous while the other is flat?
What is the purpose of the rotating plate in front of the lock?
Who's this voice acting performer?
Can my imp familiar still talk when shapshifted (to a raven, if that matters)?
Notation: grace note played on the beat with a chord
Are there mathematical concepts that exist in the fourth dimension, but not in the third dimension?
Is Sanskrit really the mother of all languages?
How do I delete cookies from a specific site?
Was the lunar landing site always in the same plane as the CM's orbit?
Sinning and G-d's will, what's wrong with this logic?
Is future tense in English really a myth?
Golfball Dimples on spaceships (and planes)?
convenient Vector3f class
GFI outlets tripped after power outage
What are the map units that WGS84 uses?
Remaining in the US beyond VWP admission period
Why Is Sojdlg123aljg a Common Password?
Can taking my 1-week-old on a 6-7 hours journey in the car lead to medical complications?
What quests do you need to stop at before you make an enemy of a faction for each faction?
Are language and thought the same?
What are the solutions of this Diophantine equation?
Pronounceable encrypted text
Do 643,000 Americans go bankrupt every year due to medical bills?
Can Adventure creatures always be cast from exile?
Hypersonic dragon => instant scavenge?Will a copy of a flashed-back Increasing Vengeance still make two copies?Jace, Telepath Unbound and Casting a Spell from the GraveyardIf I can cast “target instant card” from my graveyard can I cast a card that has Flash?Can I cast both parts of Commit//Memory from the graveyard with Torrential Gearhulk?How does Hazoret's Undying Fury work with Aftermath cards?Why do effects that exile a card from the graveyard use the characteristics the card had in the graveyard?Can I cast Dire Fleet Daredevil if my opponent has no instants or sorceries in their graveyard?What happens when a reanimated creature returns from exile?What cards can I cast from exile with Dream Pillager?
.everyoneloves__top-leaderboard:empty,.everyoneloves__mid-leaderboard:empty,.everyoneloves__bot-mid-leaderboard:empty margin-bottom:0;
Throne of Eldraine will include 'Adventure' instant and sorcery subtypes, that are attached to a creature (or possibly just permanent) card. The reminder text says (Then exile this card. You may cast the creature later from exile.)
Can the creature always be cast from exile (obeying normal rules for casting creatures)? (For instance, if the card was in the graveyard, and then the graveyard was exiled) Or can it only be cast from exile if the card was put into exile by resolving the Adventure?
IE: Does the reminder text serve to remind that creatures attached to Adventure subtypes can be cast from exile, or does resolving an Adventure create an additional effect that allows you to cast the attached creature from exile?
magic-the-gathering
add a comment |
Throne of Eldraine will include 'Adventure' instant and sorcery subtypes, that are attached to a creature (or possibly just permanent) card. The reminder text says (Then exile this card. You may cast the creature later from exile.)
Can the creature always be cast from exile (obeying normal rules for casting creatures)? (For instance, if the card was in the graveyard, and then the graveyard was exiled) Or can it only be cast from exile if the card was put into exile by resolving the Adventure?
IE: Does the reminder text serve to remind that creatures attached to Adventure subtypes can be cast from exile, or does resolving an Adventure create an additional effect that allows you to cast the attached creature from exile?
magic-the-gathering
add a comment |
Throne of Eldraine will include 'Adventure' instant and sorcery subtypes, that are attached to a creature (or possibly just permanent) card. The reminder text says (Then exile this card. You may cast the creature later from exile.)
Can the creature always be cast from exile (obeying normal rules for casting creatures)? (For instance, if the card was in the graveyard, and then the graveyard was exiled) Or can it only be cast from exile if the card was put into exile by resolving the Adventure?
IE: Does the reminder text serve to remind that creatures attached to Adventure subtypes can be cast from exile, or does resolving an Adventure create an additional effect that allows you to cast the attached creature from exile?
magic-the-gathering
Throne of Eldraine will include 'Adventure' instant and sorcery subtypes, that are attached to a creature (or possibly just permanent) card. The reminder text says (Then exile this card. You may cast the creature later from exile.)
Can the creature always be cast from exile (obeying normal rules for casting creatures)? (For instance, if the card was in the graveyard, and then the graveyard was exiled) Or can it only be cast from exile if the card was put into exile by resolving the Adventure?
IE: Does the reminder text serve to remind that creatures attached to Adventure subtypes can be cast from exile, or does resolving an Adventure create an additional effect that allows you to cast the attached creature from exile?
magic-the-gathering
magic-the-gathering
asked 8 hours ago
AetherfoxAetherfox
7641 silver badge13 bronze badges
7641 silver badge13 bronze badges
add a comment |
add a comment |
1 Answer
1
active
oldest
votes
Resolving an Adventure spell puts the card into exile and allows you to cast it from exile. If the card was not put into exile that way, it cannot be cast from exile. The Throne of Eldraine Mechanics Guide says this on the topic:
Now the fun part of going on an adventure: returning safely! If an exiled card you own is on an adventure, you can cast the creature. This could be the same turn in which you cast the Adventure or on a future turn. This works only if the Adventure spell resolves and the card remains in exile. If you cast the Adventure and it's countered, you're out of luck. Of course, you don't have to cast the Adventure at all. You could just cast Beanstalk Giant if you have need of smashing now or you don't want to risk Fertile Footsteps getting countered.
2
Yeah, I think maybe the best way to think of this is abilities like we've seen most recently on Thief of Sanity. The effect that indefinitely put the card into exile is also the thing that allows it to be cast from exile rather than any ability that the card has while in exile. It is also slightly like Rebound, although that only allows you to cast during the resolution of a specific trigger.
– CALEB F
7 hours ago
add a comment |
Your Answer
StackExchange.ready(function()
var channelOptions =
tags: "".split(" "),
id: "147"
;
initTagRenderer("".split(" "), "".split(" "), channelOptions);
StackExchange.using("externalEditor", function()
// Have to fire editor after snippets, if snippets enabled
if (StackExchange.settings.snippets.snippetsEnabled)
StackExchange.using("snippets", function()
createEditor();
);
else
createEditor();
);
function createEditor()
StackExchange.prepareEditor(
heartbeatType: 'answer',
autoActivateHeartbeat: false,
convertImagesToLinks: false,
noModals: true,
showLowRepImageUploadWarning: true,
reputationToPostImages: null,
bindNavPrevention: true,
postfix: "",
imageUploader:
brandingHtml: "Powered by u003ca class="icon-imgur-white" href="https://imgur.com/"u003eu003c/au003e",
contentPolicyHtml: "User contributions licensed under u003ca href="https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/4.0/"u003ecc by-sa 4.0 with attribution requiredu003c/au003e u003ca href="https://stackoverflow.com/legal/content-policy"u003e(content policy)u003c/au003e",
allowUrls: true
,
noCode: true, onDemand: true,
discardSelector: ".discard-answer"
,immediatelyShowMarkdownHelp:true
);
);
Sign up or log in
StackExchange.ready(function ()
StackExchange.helpers.onClickDraftSave('#login-link');
);
Sign up using Google
Sign up using Facebook
Sign up using Email and Password
Post as a guest
Required, but never shown
StackExchange.ready(
function ()
StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2fboardgames.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f48541%2fcan-adventure-creatures-always-be-cast-from-exile%23new-answer', 'question_page');
);
Post as a guest
Required, but never shown
1 Answer
1
active
oldest
votes
1 Answer
1
active
oldest
votes
active
oldest
votes
active
oldest
votes
Resolving an Adventure spell puts the card into exile and allows you to cast it from exile. If the card was not put into exile that way, it cannot be cast from exile. The Throne of Eldraine Mechanics Guide says this on the topic:
Now the fun part of going on an adventure: returning safely! If an exiled card you own is on an adventure, you can cast the creature. This could be the same turn in which you cast the Adventure or on a future turn. This works only if the Adventure spell resolves and the card remains in exile. If you cast the Adventure and it's countered, you're out of luck. Of course, you don't have to cast the Adventure at all. You could just cast Beanstalk Giant if you have need of smashing now or you don't want to risk Fertile Footsteps getting countered.
2
Yeah, I think maybe the best way to think of this is abilities like we've seen most recently on Thief of Sanity. The effect that indefinitely put the card into exile is also the thing that allows it to be cast from exile rather than any ability that the card has while in exile. It is also slightly like Rebound, although that only allows you to cast during the resolution of a specific trigger.
– CALEB F
7 hours ago
add a comment |
Resolving an Adventure spell puts the card into exile and allows you to cast it from exile. If the card was not put into exile that way, it cannot be cast from exile. The Throne of Eldraine Mechanics Guide says this on the topic:
Now the fun part of going on an adventure: returning safely! If an exiled card you own is on an adventure, you can cast the creature. This could be the same turn in which you cast the Adventure or on a future turn. This works only if the Adventure spell resolves and the card remains in exile. If you cast the Adventure and it's countered, you're out of luck. Of course, you don't have to cast the Adventure at all. You could just cast Beanstalk Giant if you have need of smashing now or you don't want to risk Fertile Footsteps getting countered.
2
Yeah, I think maybe the best way to think of this is abilities like we've seen most recently on Thief of Sanity. The effect that indefinitely put the card into exile is also the thing that allows it to be cast from exile rather than any ability that the card has while in exile. It is also slightly like Rebound, although that only allows you to cast during the resolution of a specific trigger.
– CALEB F
7 hours ago
add a comment |
Resolving an Adventure spell puts the card into exile and allows you to cast it from exile. If the card was not put into exile that way, it cannot be cast from exile. The Throne of Eldraine Mechanics Guide says this on the topic:
Now the fun part of going on an adventure: returning safely! If an exiled card you own is on an adventure, you can cast the creature. This could be the same turn in which you cast the Adventure or on a future turn. This works only if the Adventure spell resolves and the card remains in exile. If you cast the Adventure and it's countered, you're out of luck. Of course, you don't have to cast the Adventure at all. You could just cast Beanstalk Giant if you have need of smashing now or you don't want to risk Fertile Footsteps getting countered.
Resolving an Adventure spell puts the card into exile and allows you to cast it from exile. If the card was not put into exile that way, it cannot be cast from exile. The Throne of Eldraine Mechanics Guide says this on the topic:
Now the fun part of going on an adventure: returning safely! If an exiled card you own is on an adventure, you can cast the creature. This could be the same turn in which you cast the Adventure or on a future turn. This works only if the Adventure spell resolves and the card remains in exile. If you cast the Adventure and it's countered, you're out of luck. Of course, you don't have to cast the Adventure at all. You could just cast Beanstalk Giant if you have need of smashing now or you don't want to risk Fertile Footsteps getting countered.
edited 8 hours ago
answered 8 hours ago
murgatroid99♦murgatroid99
52.5k8 gold badges134 silver badges219 bronze badges
52.5k8 gold badges134 silver badges219 bronze badges
2
Yeah, I think maybe the best way to think of this is abilities like we've seen most recently on Thief of Sanity. The effect that indefinitely put the card into exile is also the thing that allows it to be cast from exile rather than any ability that the card has while in exile. It is also slightly like Rebound, although that only allows you to cast during the resolution of a specific trigger.
– CALEB F
7 hours ago
add a comment |
2
Yeah, I think maybe the best way to think of this is abilities like we've seen most recently on Thief of Sanity. The effect that indefinitely put the card into exile is also the thing that allows it to be cast from exile rather than any ability that the card has while in exile. It is also slightly like Rebound, although that only allows you to cast during the resolution of a specific trigger.
– CALEB F
7 hours ago
2
2
Yeah, I think maybe the best way to think of this is abilities like we've seen most recently on Thief of Sanity. The effect that indefinitely put the card into exile is also the thing that allows it to be cast from exile rather than any ability that the card has while in exile. It is also slightly like Rebound, although that only allows you to cast during the resolution of a specific trigger.
– CALEB F
7 hours ago
Yeah, I think maybe the best way to think of this is abilities like we've seen most recently on Thief of Sanity. The effect that indefinitely put the card into exile is also the thing that allows it to be cast from exile rather than any ability that the card has while in exile. It is also slightly like Rebound, although that only allows you to cast during the resolution of a specific trigger.
– CALEB F
7 hours ago
add a comment |
Thanks for contributing an answer to Board & Card Games Stack Exchange!
- Please be sure to answer the question. Provide details and share your research!
But avoid …
- Asking for help, clarification, or responding to other answers.
- Making statements based on opinion; back them up with references or personal experience.
To learn more, see our tips on writing great answers.
Sign up or log in
StackExchange.ready(function ()
StackExchange.helpers.onClickDraftSave('#login-link');
);
Sign up using Google
Sign up using Facebook
Sign up using Email and Password
Post as a guest
Required, but never shown
StackExchange.ready(
function ()
StackExchange.openid.initPostLogin('.new-post-login', 'https%3a%2f%2fboardgames.stackexchange.com%2fquestions%2f48541%2fcan-adventure-creatures-always-be-cast-from-exile%23new-answer', 'question_page');
);
Post as a guest
Required, but never shown
Sign up or log in
StackExchange.ready(function ()
StackExchange.helpers.onClickDraftSave('#login-link');
);
Sign up using Google
Sign up using Facebook
Sign up using Email and Password
Post as a guest
Required, but never shown
Sign up or log in
StackExchange.ready(function ()
StackExchange.helpers.onClickDraftSave('#login-link');
);
Sign up using Google
Sign up using Facebook
Sign up using Email and Password
Post as a guest
Required, but never shown
Sign up or log in
StackExchange.ready(function ()
StackExchange.helpers.onClickDraftSave('#login-link');
);
Sign up using Google
Sign up using Facebook
Sign up using Email and Password
Sign up using Google
Sign up using Facebook
Sign up using Email and Password
Post as a guest
Required, but never shown
Required, but never shown
Required, but never shown
Required, but never shown
Required, but never shown
Required, but never shown
Required, but never shown
Required, but never shown
Required, but never shown